BICYCLE DUTCH

All about cycling in the Netherlands

A ‘new’ blog!

A year ago to the day I wrote my first real post for the blog ‘A view from the cycle path’ from David Hembrow. For a number of good reasons we both decided to stop writing blog posts in the end of 2011. But the posts remained visible for all on the internet and I kept on making videos without an accompanying blog post.

Now that the blog has become inaccessible*, I felt it was a pity for all the blog posts I had written. When questions about broken links from my video channel to the blog posts started coming in, I decided to open my own blog to re-post some of the posts I wrote that have turned out to be the more interesting stories. This also gives me a platform to write a few lines to accompany the videos that I will most probably be making in the future. With the posts I have already put on this new blog I think you can see what that will look like in the future. I hope that you, as one of the followers of the blog, my videos and the twitter account, are willing to come with me to this new platform to enjoy my future creations.

* Update:
On the 3rd of March David Hembrow turned back his decision and re-opened his site. We had to decide what to do with my posts. We agreed that they will remain to be visible on his blog but there will be a link to this site. I will continue this blog on my own and David Hembrow will continue his.

17 comments on “A ‘new’ blog!

  1. Wilma Flanagan
    3 March 2012

    I am thrilled that A View From the Cycle Path is back, and also the addition of your blog. I have watched and been inspired by your films and David’s. I serve on my city’s Bicycle Advisory Board, and regularly refer to your work when preparing for our discussions. I try to encourage the other members of the board to also read this information, and will now continue to do so. You are a much appreciated resource! Thank you!

    • Koen
      5 March 2012

      Is there any way to get Mark and David payed for their work, Wilma?

  2. Zmapper
    2 March 2012

    Mark, I wish you success in your new blog! The videos and posts that you and David put out over the years have provided a great resource to show others on the other side of the pond.

    Furthermore, I sent you this a while ago but I wish to show all: It appears Fort Collins had a Dutch traffic engineer back in the late 80’s/ early 90’s. A separated cycle-track built mostly to Dutch standards exists on a main arterial here.

    The location in Google Maps: http://g.co/maps/bq8tk

  3. Wookey
    28 February 2012

    David has explained why he stopped, but I don’t understand why that justifies deleting the whole thing. What good does that do anybody? A resource you can’t read isn’t a very useful one, and there are an awful lot of people who haven’t read any of it yet.

    • bicycledutch
      28 February 2012

      This is not really the place to discuss this. But I know that keeping it all on the internet kept generating work. That is basically it. And the decision is completely for David to make. I do respect it, even though I make a different decision. That is why I am re-posting my work on this new blog.

  4. Peter
    27 February 2012

    Good luck with the new blog. I’m still reeling from the fact that A View From The Cycle Path will be no more.

    Don’t underestimate the impact you and David had on cycle campaigning in the UK.

  5. Good to have you back! I’m looking forward to your new videos.

  6. bicycledutch
    26 February 2012

    Thanks to all for the encouraging comments!

    @urban commuter: yes I have had contact with Streetfilms. They have featured one of my videos on their blog and one of the filmmakers asked permission to use some of my footage in one of their videos. The have some videos about cycling in the Netherlands, but not nearly enough!

    @Koen, yes I know what I am getting into. I have also already seen my work stolen, my words distorted. But I think I will be able to handle it. We’ll see!

  7. Koen
    26 February 2012

    I think it was a very brave step of David to pull the plug. It must have taken him hours every week, and perhaps he got complaints from his family as well. And then to find people showing off with a perverted version of your hard-won information and making money with it, is just wrong. I’m still hoping that David’s blackout will bring someone to his senses and make him or her hire David for proper work. He’s earned that over the years, I think.
    That being said, I am really really sorry he stopped the blog. I’m glad I found out about it just in time to have read all posts. I will miss it. That’s why I’m very glad you decided to step in, Mark. Well, you know what the danger is, David will no doubt have told you. Good luck and thanks!

  8. chestercycling
    26 February 2012

    I’m glad to see that A View From The Cycle Path will have a spiritual successor.

  9. walkeaglerock
    26 February 2012

    Oh this makes me so happy! Thank you Mark! I still remember when I first discovered your videos about 3 years ago and saw the million dollar baby– Bicycle Rush Hour in the Netherlands. Hope you have fun with this blog!

    – Severin

  10. Urban Commuter
    26 February 2012

    Mark, heb je wel eens contact gelegd met de makers van Streetfilms? Hoewel het Amerikaans is, zie ik ook een aantal buitenlandse clips, wo Denemarken, in de lijst staan.

    http://www.streetfilms.org/category/bicycles/

  11. Vladimir Zlokazov
    26 February 2012

    Thank you for starting this blog Mark!

  12. David Hembrow
    26 February 2012

    Good luck with the new blog Mark

  13. Maggie
    26 February 2012

    Thank you!

  14. Examined Spoke
    26 February 2012

    Thank you for doing this. The old blog was such a resource. I understand why it was abandoned, but that it was deleted completely because of the bad behavior of a few is a shame. Here’s hoping that some of the same themes and arguments will find a new home!

  15. Herbert Tiemens
    26 February 2012

    Welcome Back!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 25 February 2012 by in Original posts.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 616 other followers

