Rotterdam (encore)

As announced, no ordinary big elaborate post this week. But… I happened to be in Rotterdam yet again last Saturday, this time for a family visit. On the prior visits I walked, but now I cycled! So, as an encore to last week’s post, I decided to use my camera on the first part of the ride. I started from the central station bicycle parking facility, where I rented an OV-Fiets (public bicycle), and I rode to the back of the station, through a tunnel under the railroad tracks. At the back of the station, you immediately enter a very different part of Rotterdam; a 19th century neighbourhood that was not destroyed in World War II, unlike most of the city centre. The wide bi-directional cycle track ends in a traffic calmed 30km/h residential zone. It takes you to a one way street for motor vehicles with a bicycle countraflow lane. I cycled further north to my cousin, but that was mainly a continuation of the same type of infrastructure. I didn’t film that part of the ride. Enjoy the video!

A short video of a ride under the Rotterdam Central Station railway tracks.

Rotterdam, skyscrapers and cycling can go together well.
Rotterdam, skyscrapers and cycling can go together well. Left, the sharp tip of the roof of the Central Station building.
The route I rode, from south to north.

The ride started on the square in front of Rotterdam Central Station and ended at the back of the station. Amsterdam also has a tunnel under the station, but the one in Rotterdam is a lot older.
The ride started on the square in front of Rotterdam Central Station and ended at the back of the station. This aerial picture from Google shows you how big Rotterdam Central Station is compared to other buildings. Amsterdam also has a tunnel under the station, but the one in Rotterdam is a lot older.

One thought on “Rotterdam (encore)

  1. Rotterdam is definitely worth a visit. Why? Amazing futuristic architecture, ethnic neighborhoods with their delicious, unique foods and stores, kind people and a full service transportation hub that will get you anywhere.

    As far as bicycling it’s as good as any other city in The Netherlands but most places of interest are located within walking distance.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.