15 Years of commuting; the successful bicycle/train combination in the Netherlands

In 2009, I created my very first video on my channel to demonstrate that cycling can be a practical and efficient mode of transportation, even for longer distances in the Netherlands. Now, in 2024, 15 years later, I published over one thousand videos about cycling in the Netherlands.

Many smaller differences in 15 years. Top left the analog train departure signs, right the current computer screens which are also bi-lingual. Bottom left to right; newspapers were replaced by news on the smart phone and paper cups by reusable cups since I take the first coffee at work now. (Reuseable cups can now also be used to get a coffee to go.)

Over the years, I documented my commute every five years. The initial video in 2009 emphasised how easy it is to combine public transport and cycling for a 50-kilometer journey from ʼs-Hertogenbosch to Utrecht. In the 2014 and 2019 versions, I reflected on the changes and constants in my daily commute, especially with Utrecht’s Central Station undergoing a considerable reconstruction from 2011 to 2016.

The four locations where my bicycle was parked in 15 years. Top left: 2009, the underground station bicycle parking garage. Top right: 2014, a dark old mall parking with wooden racks. Bottom left: 2019, a temporary bicycle parking garage from the city of Utrecht and bottom right: 2024, the world’s largest bicycle parking garage where my bicycle has been parked since the summer of 2019.

The Utrecht leg of my journey witnessed the most significant transformations, with my bicycle finding different homes in all four videos due to the station refurbishments. The once-underground bicycle parking, later closed during reconstruction, emerged as part of the world’s largest bicycle parking garage in 2017 that has been fully operational since the summer of 2019.

One of the tunnels under the tracks of Utrecht Central gave direct access to the original bicycle parking garage. This was the situation in 2009 the picture below shows the exact same location in 2024. The stairs to platform 1 and 2 (right) were closed (because those plaforms were relocated).
The tunnel was refurbished, but still gives access to the bicycle parking garage where the rental bicycles of the OV-Fiets scheme are stored as well as the ‘exceptional’ bicycles (such as cargobikes and bicycles with children’s seats or baskets). The current main entrance to what has become the world’s largest bicycle parking garage is on the right hand side of this picture.

Through these changes, my commute maintained its essence – a combination of train and bicycle. I have made this daily commute since 1995. I calculated that the distance I traveled by train in those 29 years was about 228,000 kilometres. The later years considerably less than the earlier, especially due to two pandemic years of working from home. After the COVID crisis, I kept working from home for a third of my working hours. The Dutch Railways use sustainable wind-generated energy to run their trains, so all those kilometres traveled were much greener than they would have been in a private car.

This week’s new video is again about getting to work but even more about showcasing cycling as a viable transportation option. Freedom of travel is also about being able to choose eco-friendly transportation and not being forced to use a private car. I hope and expect to be able to make my commute the same way I did in the last 29 years, also in the coming decade, after which I hope to retire.

This week’s video: 15 years of commuting by bicycle and train in the Netherlands.

5 thoughts on “15 Years of commuting; the successful bicycle/train combination in the Netherlands

  1. Great video Mark! I see you lost the private office space and now have a hot desk – that is the same for me here in the UK after the pandemic, so now we have to book desk space weeks in advance and I sit next to a different person each time I go to the office. I miss my plants and my pictures, but I don’t miss having to go in every day!

  2. Gelukkig nieuwjaar en gefeliciteerd met de 15 jaar verjaardag van jouw supergeweldige blog! Ik heb de plezier ervan om het huidige station te gebruiken nadat het nu klaar is. Maar ik heb dankzij u eindelijk nu geleerd wat de naam van die tunnel is. Vóórdat ik de tunnel gevonden heb, rende de trappen elke keer op om de trein te halen: Au! Ik heb deze Middentunnel, zoals u het noemt, ongeveer halfjaar geleden ontdekt pas omdat ik andere mensen volgde die lijkte als ze wisten waar ze gingen. Er staat geen borden langs het perron bij de tunnel-trappen om ‘fietsenstalling’. Alleen ‘fietsverhuur’ – oké maar onduidelijk voor nieuwekomers. Heel raar, volgens mij. Sowieso is het bestaan van deze tunnel een heel heel goed idee. Het laat me zien dat een groot verschil tussen Nederland en VK die er niet één maar twee zulke tunnellen onder het station liggen. Behalve de voornoemde borden probleem, Nederlands station ontwerpers hebben in algemeen veel meer overwegingen van de beweging van reizigers, terwijl in VK zijn ze te gierig en ze maken het niet uit. Dit is een groot voordeel voor reizigers in Nederland. In Cambridge, in tegenstelling tot, zouden ze vergelijkbaar een verbinding kunnen maken tussen het station voetbrug en fietsenstalling met maar een paar meter extra voetbrug. Maar ze doen het niet omdat ze te gierig zijn en/of ze niet genoeg vooruitkijkend zijn.

    Het enige probleem met de Middentunnel is dat ik het één keer ineens gesloten vond, voor geen reden. Grote brede deuren stonden dicht gesloten over de hele tunnel ingang. Dan stond ik drie verdieping ondergrond en ineens was ik ver weg van de trein die binnenkort vertrekt was, ipv de normaal één minuut door Middentunnel lopen. Dan ik heb de trein gemist en met de onverwachte extratijd vraagde ik erover tegen de OV hulp-personeel waarom de tunnel mysterieuze gesloten was. Ze antwoordde dat ze niet over het bestaan van de tunnel wist! Dus is het niet alleen mij die verward wordt. Ik vraagde erover ook NS op sociale media en ze wisten het reden ook niet. Wat jammer over z’on handig tunnel, ik ben nu een beetje bang voor de bodem verdieping fietsparkeeren omdat de Middentunnel misschien gesloten zou zijn. Met uw ervaring, als u erover weet waar ik misschien zulke sluiting-aankondigingen mag vinden, dan laat het me maar even weten aub.

  3. (…) “and not being forced to use a private car.”

    Are you perhaps interested to become member of the association for the car free? I am currently finding the first 100 members in my own network first. Now half way. Then we formalise it.

    Let me know at reinder@rustema.nl

    It will not against cars per se. Renting or borrowing a car is often a good option. Or perhaps briefly owning one. The goal is to defend the interests of those without a car. The pedestrian, the bicyclist and the public transport user all have their representatives at the table of the decision makers nationally. But the car free citizens are missing.

    Also, a life without owning a car is not mainstream and considered to be a stage to go through before adulthood. This public perception needs to change. Smoking was once considered normal. Smoke free is the norm now.

    1. What a brilliant idea! To improve air quality, for our health, to minimise the load on our healthcare systems, to foster a more peaceful ambiance, and to reduce global warming we must encourage active travel.
      Snag is, do I qualify for membership? – I own a car to tow my sail-and-oar (no motor) dinghy to events, including in Netherlands!
      Paul W (UK)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.